Leakey TX, the Real County seat, provides charming examples of early Texas Hill Country architecture: the hand cut, native stone structure of Real County Courthouse, First State Bank building and Leakey School, all on U.S. Highway 83. Markers at the courthouse commemorate the history of Leakey and its founders, John and Nancy Leakey, early settlers of Frio Canyon.
Approximately six miles north of Leakey on Highway 336 a marker denotes the site of the McLauren Massacres, the last Indian massacre in the Southwest. Travel 7 miles south of Leakey on Highway 1120 to Rio Frio, the Canyon’s first settlement, to see the nation s largest Texas Live Oak tree and the Lombardy Irrigation Ditch dug by pioneers to water their crops. The Real County Historical Museum at Leakey displays authentic furnishings, tools and personal items used by the early settlers of this unique ranching and farming valley.
Action here focuses on the upper Frio River, flowing with clear, cold spring water through 100,000 acres of scenic beauty. The Frio River originates in northern Real County and, fed by springs and streams, tumbles over limestone rock to create waterfalls, rapids and pools on its way to Concan in Uvalde county. Along the banks are boulders, bluffs and grassy spots shaded by pecans, live oaks, sycamores and giant, centuries old, cypress trees.